White Noise and Stars

“Radio Silence”

Static in the air,

white noise all around.

We try to talk,

but our voices

won’t cross

the radio silence between us.

Can’t out-shout the buzzing,

shall we

tune ourselves to a different frequency?

Tap, tap – a pair of tuning forks

humming in dissonance, harmony.

With luck, the notes we make

will broadcast clearly.

~ Marta Ziemelis. Copyright February, April 2014

 

When I wrote the first draft of this in February, I had recently finished reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. It’s likely that some of the pensiveness, misanthropy and tendency to melodrama that I picked up on in that novel made their way into this piece. But to be fair, I can be melodramatic and thoughtful anyway. Misanthropic (or people-hating, if you prefer) as well, on my moody days. I did enjoy TFIOS,  especially since I found myself relating to the two protagonists more than once. And I like the idea of trying to create melodic harmony between people!

Leave a Reply

