Observing Apples

“Wild Apples”

The apples of the Otherworld

taste of spicy honey,

of wildness, whirling, courage and taking new paths.

In my mind-travels I’ve had that taste upon my tongue,

sweet, tickling, prickling, mad,

fitting, more than necessary.

But these apples –

red-dusky, green-crisp –

are right here, right now.

Taste them on your tongue, my friend,

wild as the other kind, fresh and bright,

and then I’ll take a bite.

The world may tilt and break around us,

yet in this moment

we have the chance to share apples and each other.

~ Marta Ziemelis. Written in Riga, Latvia, copyright July 2013.

This was inspired by a walk I took a few days ago, and by an apple tree I observed in a near neighbour’s yard during that walk. Amazing fruit, apples. Sometimes the simplest things about them can be fascinating, such as the way they can be completely ripe, yet green on one side and red on the other.

Leave a Reply

