Forty-two! – or – The Postless Post

“Words are like birds

You have to be quiet and still

Else

they will not come.”

~ Marta Ziemelis. Copyrighted 2012.

Writing can be a strange exercise. Words come, then they don’t. I prepare myself by doing research, taking notes, brainstorming, drafting. I sit down (or stand up) to write, with the firmest sense of discipline, the most positive intentions, and…nothing happens. Perhaps writing is much like life – you can practice agency, be active, try to attract the kinds of changes for which you are hoping – and things, nonetheless, don’t happen in the way you expect. Unpredictable, that’s a good word for both writing and life.

All this is a long-winded way to say that, when I started this blog, I firmly intended to post here at least once a week. I haven’t been able to keep to that resolution, perhaps partly through laziness or lack of discipline, and partly because I’ve been fairly busy with other things over the past few months. No promises about how regularly I shall be able to post for the next little while. Also, sometimes I simply don’t know what to write about, here – especially if I don’t have a poem or other piece of writing which I feel prepared to share. (One of the curses of being a perfectionist: you rarely feel that your writing is at its best!)

That said, a sincere “thank you!” to all of you who have read and are reading my blog! Knowing that an audience, no matter how large or small, is reading my work – that  means a great deal to me. Why? Because it means that my writing makes sense to people other than myself; it means that my work has the opportunity to touch lives and make a hopefully positive impact on the world.

As the Scottish poet Robert Burns (or, affectionately, Rabbie Burns) wrote in “To a Mouse”, “The best-laid plans o’ mice and men/ gang aft a-gley”.  Our plans  – with regard to writing and other things – do often go astray. I can hope this is so because Life, the Universe, and Everything has different ‘plans’ in store for us, which we may not even be able to imagine.

Forty-two!

Leave a Reply

